Friday Night Luxury

Today on this Patagonian isle it stopped raining long enough for a hike in the stunning national park, ending on a wild beach with grassy dunes.

I also discovered a very hip bar with wi-fi, of all things, and I am there now. This enables me to write, over a fast connection, on the very same computer I use at home. It is a rather surreal displacement. I am drinking espresso, but I may drink wine and eat fish. I could drink a pisco sour.

All of these options, in addition to wi-fi, a wood stove, and several non-rainy hours in the middle of the day, add up to extreme luxury. And partaking of these luxuries is, of course, a form of singing. The music in this bar is: alternative.

A note on my ever-shifting identity: people here, although they see me face to face, have as much trouble figuring out what I am as some of my more curious readers. In central Chile I was taken for a French person, an American with Chilean parents, a Chilean from a region unknown to my interlocutor, and a Colombian. On the coast, two people thought I was from Spain, and here in Patagonia, it is generally assumed that I am from Santiago. Do you see? Even in person, one has many selves, and who you are depends in part upon where you are. Proust also said that.

Axé.

12 Comments

Filed under News

12 responses to “Friday Night Luxury

  1. sounds lovely. i couldn’t agree with you more. who we are in our daily lives depends on where we are too. we are all shades of our core self. hope that you have some wine and fish- and enjoy!!!

  2. chasingmoksha

    Hey professor, no need to post this comment, but I think you were wondering about this person. I think it is granny with a vibrator. I used to read her through your old links.

    http://spinningtumor.blogspot.com/

  3. chasingmoksha

    Oh snap! Why do I see my comment? I thought you were moderating.

  4. absorbant

    Your adventure sounds amazing Profacero.

    …..and what You are depends on what They are!

  5. chasingmoksha

    Never mind. After reading all of her entries, I see that you have commented, so you do in fact know. Sorry.

  6. chasingmoksha

    I could do for a pisco sour. Speaking of which, I received a nice poster of Peru today, inserted in the Fiction Edition of the New Yorker. Hope you continue to enjoy yourself.

  7. charlie

    Z – I am envious. Or, more accurately, several of my many selves are envious of the adventures currently being enjoyed by some of yours. I love singing, whatever form it takes, and howsoever poorly I perform. (‘Very poorly’ says my musician son)

  8. Hi! Update: as it turned out, I drank wine and ate a vegetable omelet. Then an Italian I had met hiking showed up and paid the bill. So I drank a green tea, and then bought us a pisco, which we drank straight, much to the consternation of the waiter who wanted us to put ice in it.

    And today, it is magically sunny, which totally changes my impression of Patagonia. (This trip has actually been more difficult and less amazing than some I have taken, due to bad weather.) But I am bound to leave, as I am expected up north tomorrow. I will say I am at least glad I have seen how it is with sunshine, and that when I was in the mountains, also with much rain, it did at least clear up long enough so that we could see the volcano.

  9. It is always stimulating to catch up with you….and now I am wondering what your kind of freedom feels like…It must be heaven.

  10. Hi Barbie!!! I´ll remember that: I seem free. I tend to think I am trying to GET free, but you are the second person in the last 24 hours who has spontaneously pointed out that I already am… So I´ll agree, I already am…

  11. luisa

    Tea, the rain, a mysterious stranger picking up the tab–sounds cozy. I am jealous.

    I agree that we have other selves in person. Your post reminds me of travelling in Cuba with some African American friends of mine. They were always treated like Afro-Cubans because Cuba does not see a lot of Black tourists. They experienced a Cuban brand of racism that I would not have known about had I not been with them…

    Anyways, I have always found that I feel freer travelling than here at home. I just have to learn to bring the mindstate back with me next time.

    Have many adventures!

  12. “They were always treated like Afro-Cubans because Cuba does not see a lot of Black tourists. They experienced a Cuban brand of racism that I would not have known about had I not been with them…”

    This is so true (and such a taboo topic in Latin America)!

Leave a Reply

