What Troops Should Say to Reporters

Now that the House of Representatives opposes the Iraq war, the military has provided guidelines on what troops should say to reporters.

Commanders advise their soldiers that they should talk about the things that they know,” [Christine Wormuth, a defense analyst with the Center for Strategic and International Studies] said. A truck driver, for instance, might be on solid ground talking about the need for spare parts, vehicle armor and better protection against roadside bombs. “But talking about whether it was a good idea to invade Iraq might be out of their lane as a truck driver.”

The corollary here is that ordinary citizens are not qualified to opine, either. If I am not mistaken that runs counter to the sense of every Founding Document we have.

The current Administration can kiss my pointy head.

Axé.

11 Comments

Filed under News

11 responses to “What Troops Should Say to Reporters

  1. I had not heard this, but it is disgusting.

    One year ago today, 70% of soldiers stationed in Iraq opined that we should bring our forces home by 12/31/06. I wonder how many of them were truck drivers.

  2. Everyday they move closer to the old Soviet School of Management.
    And just like those ass clowns they send 24 year-old drop-outs from A.&M. to watch scientists at the Goddard Space Flight Center.

  3. well, this administration can kiss my ass…i will say what i want to whom ever i want — it’s called an ammendment to our constitution!!!

    Article [I.]

    Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

  4. They must be really upset about the 60 minutes report from the weekend.

  5. Did you see the recent article in Newsweek that tells of a version of this? Apparently Mrs. Donald Rumsfeld attended (incognito) a meeting of volunteers and service wives several months ago and heard their concerns about the miserable conditions for outpatients. Later revealing her identity, she asked whether the patients her husband got to see during his visits were carefully selected for their ability not to rock the boat. “Of course,” she was told.

    Oh, and the woman who invited her to the group, a longtime volunteer? She was banned from Walter Reed after this.

  6. When I go to Balboa I keep my eyes and ears open and my mouth shut. The people I see there with stumps appear to be brainwashed. They are so grateful and kind as if the medical staff is doing them a favor for seeing them. They earned that treatment and should not have to kiss ass to ensure that the treatment continues. When I say kissing ass, I mean major ass kissing. Like “I understand it is the fourth time I am here for this infection of my stump, and I just want everyone to know how much I appreciate all the great care I am receiving here, btw, my wife sends you this giant plate of homemade cookies. God BLESS AMERICA!”

  7. What was the 60 minutes report? I didn’t see Newsweek either – that is fascinating – ditto the Balboa description.

    Meanwhile it seems that the commanding officer of Walter Reed is fired for not ensuring the best of care to the wounded.

    http://www.truthout.org/docs_2006/030107R.shtml

  8. The commanding officer of Walter Reed is just being used as a scapegoat. Granted he probably could have seen to better service, however his real crime is allowing that lack of service to be exposed. His replacment will know how to handle hiding the bad care better.

  9. I think the word is that his replacement actually created or was responsible for the conditions that this guy was fired for —

    BTW: My previous comment wasn’t finished – I meant to write something about shaking my head. I do a lot of that these days. It’s not enough.

  10. Real problem, not covering up well enough: I am sure that is true. Meanwhile, it seems that Salon has been covering this situation for about two years.

    http://www.salon.com/news/feature/2007/02/23/walter_reed/

Leave a Reply

