Detention Camps

Now I am watching this 1940′s propaganda film for the internment camps in which we placed Japanese-Americans. I recommend it, as contains a great deal of information about camp conditions, which are quite gulag-esque despite all attempts at positive spin.

It seems that the modern concentration camp was invented in the 1890′s. Spain had them in Cuba, to prevent civilians from aiding and abetting insurgents, and Great Britain had them in South Africa for Boer and African civilians. These were not intended as death camps, but I am told that as many as 25% of the inmates died.

On detention camps in the United States currently, investigate these terms: Rex 84, Operation Garden Plot, and Conplan 2002. All sound like the overheated imaginings of conspiracy cranks, but are not.

Axé.

10 Comments

Filed under News

10 responses to “Detention Camps

  1. Andy

    I find myself at awe. I thougth it’d be a crank, with concentration camps and death camps and all being such an obsession. Thank you for sharing!

    BTW, have you seen the declassified reports on Japanese detention camps in the US? They were printed independently and are accessible to anyone interested in official transcripts.

    Andy

  2. thanks for the links on the US camps..can’t wait to browse over there…

    hope you had a nice jazzy week(end)

  3. Hi y’all! Andy – I haven’t seen the reports, but I have heard about the declassification. Azgoddess – thank you, I did! And the weather was fantastic. However, FIL beats Jazzfest hands down – Jazzfest has gotten *so* touristy. Music and sound at FIL were great, and I bought a genuine Tarahumara ceremonial drum.

    Best N.O. restaurant this weekend: Elizabeth’s: http://www.elizabeths-restaurant.com/
    Mmm! Best recipe by me this weekend: pork chops marinated in olive oil, basalmic vinegar, raspberry basalmic vinegar, and orange juice, baked with sliced onions and potatoes, garnished with lots of fresh mint (and I do mean lots).

  4. Damn, Prof… I missed the receipe book. Must have left it in VT or Canada. Or somewhere else.

    Andy

  5. The Japanese American Museum in LA has a huge amount of official information on the concentration camps, along with a transcripts of interviews with survivors and reparations information.

    It’s a little off the beaten path in LA, but you can walk across the street from there and there are wonderful Japanese businesses and bakeries. Hmm. Note how I turn a serious topic to *food*.

  6. Ah, now I have L.A. *and* New Orleans nostalgia! This gave me an excuse to look up the museum, http://www.janm.org/, which sounds wonderful. And the location is actually quite convenient:

    JAPANESE AMERICAN NATIONAL MUSEUM
    369 East First Street
    Los Angeles, California 90012
    phone: (213) 625-0414
    fax: (213) 625-1770

    Origato Chaser (you lucky individual, on your way to L.A. …)!

  7. You know, if the government were actually efficient enough to intern that many people, you’d think they could have bailed folks out from Katrina. Which leads me to believe that while they may have done some kind of half-assed maneuvres, the implementation would suck. Or am I naive?

  8. Actually I think I heard talk that next time a Katrina happened, they would use these centers to intern people … or that budget to build more centers was justified by the possibility of another Katrina.

    They are efficient enough to intern a lot of people: look at our current incarceration rate.

    The part I find hard to believe is that the Alaskan center can hold 2 million. Also, I would like to see one of these huge empty prisons.

  9. There is a grave yard in Oxnard right off the PCH 1 for Japanese who were supposedly held at California camps but I cannot imagine which one because why would the grave yard be so far away. There was a big ruckus, people, I should say money grubbers actually wanted to “develop” that grave yard into expensive housing or a business or something. Really pathetic, it is only about 1 acre or maybe 1 and 1/2 at the most. Leave it be is what I say.

  10. The American Press attempts to put a positive spin on anything that tells the true history of this country and the brutality against some of it’s native sons and daughters. Thanks for this and hello.

Leave a Reply

