N. Machiavelli

Machiavelli, via Porch Dog:

When evening arrives, I return home, and enter my study, and at the door I take off my daytime clothes, full of mud and filth, and I put on royal and curial robes. Having gotten dressed again appropriately, I enter the ancient courts of ancient men, where received lovingly by them, I feed on that food which alone is mine, and I was born for it; where I am not ashamed to speak with them, and ask them the reasons for their actions, and they, humanely, answer me.

That was also the original motivation for starting this blog. It amazes me how many writers have said similar things, and I am sure not all those who have said it, read it first in Machiavelli. I think it is what readers and writers do.

Axé.

5 Comments

Filed under Poetry, Resources

5 responses to “N. Machiavelli

  1. charlie

    I imagine, though, that the questions posed by ‘his wonderful girlfriend’ are as relevant to bloggers as they are to philosophers, thus: So blogging is just sitting around, reading other blogs and trying to figure out what they mean? Isn’t that just pushing around hot ether?

    I wish you all the best for 2008, Z :o)

  2. Is reading and discussing literature just pushing around hot print?

  3. Well put, Professor Z.

  4. bb

    I’ve never looked at blogging in such a way before. The more I think of it, the more I understand I guess. Well put indeed!

    You have a happy New Year! :-)

  5. Gracias, BB and Hattie, and Happy New Year to both of you, too!

Leave a Reply

