Gizzard Soup

Now the radio is singing: Got my pistols loaded up and I’m Alabama bound. I have heard this song as got my ticket in my hand, going down to New Orleans, but no, it is got my pistols loaded up and I’m Alabama bound. I am back home in the sweet sunny South, making gizzard soup.

Strange though it may sound, gizzard soup is a Scandinavian delicacy I strongly recommend. It is made with the leftovers of a goose or duck which you have stuffed with apples and prunes, roasted, and served with red cabbage.

Gizzard Soup

Take a goose or duck carcass, not picked clean. Remnants of the apple and prune stuffing should still be sticking to the bones. Put the carcass in a pot, and add any leftover giblets and gravy you may have. Cover with water and add at least two large spoonfuls of vinegar, or more to taste. It is very important to have at least some vinegar since this will release the flavor from the bones.

Bring the pot to a boil and then simmer slowly until you have a rich broth. Remove clean bones, and add: chopped green apples, prunes, sliced leeks, shallots, and carrots. Simmer until vegetables are done. If you have leftover potatoes or rice dressing and want to make a heartier soup, you can include them. I prefer to sneak in extra goose or duck meat.

Axé.

8 Comments

Filed under Arts, News, Resources, Songs

8 responses to “Gizzard Soup

  1. It sounds really good. Yum! Happy New Year!

  2. Gracias Stephen! I am thinking of breaking with tradition by adding to this soup: fresh grated ginger, fresh spinach, and shelled frozen edamame! Hmmm…although maybe just the ginger, until later on…right now the soup is really good, especially the second day.

    I also made an excellent composed salad involving thinly sliced cold duck, Moro oranges from my tree, and scallions from my scallion fields … and then a few ingredients not grown by me, of course.

  3. its one of my favorite games! Sneaking in the Goose.

    on another note, i have wildly romantic visions when you say “my scallion fields.” i hear a sort of punk rock “strawberry fields” version. you know…”scal-ee-un feeee-ulds for E verrrr” no seriously i see the sun setting and this tall fur of scallion stalks waving in the wind. please say its true.

  4. Happy New Year, Nezua! And yes, believe it or not it is exactly true. Try it – stick a scallion from the store into the ground – it will create a scallion field.

    J – Are you vegan like my Presidential candidate?

  5. No, no, no me just dislike the gizzard.

  6. Ah, then you can leave it out.

  7. Haha. I once ate gizzards (I think?) in a Japanese restaurant because they were cheaper than chicken. But not again.

Leave a Reply

