Dimanche

I am supposed to be at a dance to help raise money for a probably dying colleague who does not have supplemental health insurance, but I am at work. I may make the dance yet; if not I can still donate to the cause. The following came from a comments thread:

Comment: This point about the Clintons’ claims to be supporting the working class and the poor and their actual record during Bill’s administration is really central for me. I have never gotten why she allegedly awakens such significant sympathies among blue collar workers. One of the things that bothers me about her is how she and her husband built their records at the expense of people who had no chance of defending themselves. Because as we all know, welfare recipients don’t vote (and if they try, are often stymied by registration requirements if their housing situation does not meet the high standards of registration committees).

Z, the Wicked, quickly realizing this needs to be a post of its own: I actually do not have the faintest idea why they are supposed to be poor-friendly. Now the Houston Chronicle and the Cleveland Plain Dealer have endorsed Obama. I dislike the Hillary campaign intensely for its:

* sense of entitlement;
* condescension;
* insistence that disagreement with her on any point is sexism;
* claim that Bill’s achievements are half hers, coupled with the…
* …concurrent claim that if you do not like his achievements and say so, then you are unfairly conflating the two of them.

Meanwhile, Amiri Baraka notes that Obama won’t have much of a Black agenda unless there is a movement pushing for it. What amazes me is that he has to point that out. The reason I am for Obama is not that I think he will Fix Everything but that I think he could actually be moved by such a movement. Bill Clinton showed from the beginning of his first Presidency on that he could most effectively be moved by and to the right.

And Sylvia says this et c’est bien beau, and Carmen says that, and they are women of color not toeing the Clinton line, and I can just hear those Clintons saying, if the pressure rises, like the character Howard in In the Company of Men when turned down by a woman (“But you are handicapped. You don’t get to choose.”): “You are not white. You do not understand the terrible struggles, the sufferings, of privileged white women. You do not get to choose.”

Axé.

5 Comments

Filed under News

5 responses to “Dimanche

  1. Obama’s appeal is that we are so wearied of the cynicism and exploitation we have witnessed for the last two decades that he is a breath of fresh air. I agree with your assessment that he would be more sensitive to public pressure than Hill-Bill. Like her husband, she talks the talk, but when it comes to walking the walk, she heads for the nearest executive suite.

  2. I support Obama because I support a more open government, withdrawal from Iraq and affordable health care. But to acheive any one of these objectives we are going to have to raise our voices and keep them very, very loud. The entrenched will not cede power easily.

  3. Tom

    I support Carmen’s reasons, plus I think Obama, according to his platform, seems a little less bent on “free trade.”

    But I agree with Carmen that even if he’s mildly sympathetic, people will have to push hard to get anything.

  4. I’m so with you, P.Z. Neither Clinton has ever been anything resembling a friend of the poor, ever. I had a very hard time convincing my 72-year-old mother–who lives on a social security check of $750/mo, plus some food stamps, cannot afford supplemental insurance, and still pays a *mortgage*– that HRC is NOT looking out for her. What also baffles me is that her best friend, the same age and in more or less the same financial situation, not only staunchly supports HRC but refuses to let go of the idea that Obama is some kind of Manchurian Candidate. (??)

    Case Wagenvoord, I’m with you, too. She thinks that “bi-partisanship” means profiting from and even engineering corporate-pandering legislation and then denying it when voters notice (after the damage is done). Rrrrrrr.

Leave a Reply

