I Can’t Help Myself

…from reposting this, and pointing everyone to Momo‘s posts on this matter.

In one apartment we used to move the dining table to one side and try to imitate the Four Tops. The hit sound! From Motown! we would shout.

*

Other great posts now include Historiann on single payer health care and videos of Obama and McCain at the Alfred E. Smith dinner, at the Rap Up, where I saw them first. Also Roberto Lovato on La Pequeña Sarah Palin, Rethabile’s poem On the Death of a Friend’s Father, Lumpenprofessoriat on how professors spend their time, Slaves of Academe on the current political-economical juncture, and Kit’s Jamal the Plumber.

On the video Lovato links to – do you find it offensive? I have gotten on other peoples’ cases about misogynistic parodies of Palin and this one seemed that way to me also – almost. Then I thought, no. I am really not sure, but I do think some of the defense of Palin as “woman” is actually a defense of whiteness. I am concerned about this:

In what is probably a harbinger of things to come, the McCain campaign has already run a commercial that carries a similar intimation, accusing Mr. Obama of being “disrespectful” to Sarah Palin. The argument is muted, but its racial antecedents are very clear.

Axé.

3 Comments

Filed under Arts, Movement, Songs

3 responses to “I Can’t Help Myself

  1. historiann

    Thanks for the shout-out, Prof. Z. I always liked that Billy Bragg song, “Levi Stubbs’ Tears.”

  2. Hi H-ann – I missed that song! *Very* postmodern and ’80s, and interesting discovery:

  3. P.S. in the news: Colin Powell endoreses Obama. You should really watch the video, or failing that, read the transcript.

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/3032608

    Sara Benincasa spoofs Palin:

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/7665827.stm

    I don’t have tv, so I had never seen Tina Fey do Palin.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/us_elections_2008/7670253.stm

Leave a Reply

