Most accurate description of Maringouin so far

“Provincial authoritarian patriarchy” is the phrase someone came up with, very good.  And an NEH group with a lot of Southern experience has advice for young faculty: if you are serious about your work, never take a job in the South because that is tantamount to giving your work up: you will have to live under the thumb of anti-intellectual, localist old boys and that is it.

I have related things to say about liberal arts colleges, and I do not like the East, so that does not leave much room to move. Still I think the derisive advice professors give graduate students, you have to go anywhere you can get any tenure track job or be considered non serious, is uninformed pontification. I also dislike the threatening tone in this piece of “advice.”

Axé.

9 Comments

Filed under Banes

9 responses to “Most accurate description of Maringouin so far

  1. Do you feel that the situation is getting worse?

  2. Z

    Yes. Not for me personally, but yes. However, that is separate from the general point.

  3. Christine

    I enjoy reading your posts. I am a PhD, with experience in teaching and research, who had the privilege of having twins 4 years ago. I left my job due to a difficult pregnancy and now I am considering reentering the job market on a part time basis. Have seen a couple of interesting announcements for teaching at a community college and wondering if you have any advice as to how to approach my long absence in the CV’s presentation. Thanks.

  4. Z

    This is something you should ask of someone you know and who knows you. Or if you want, send it as a query to one of the blogs that give advice on questions like this — some are blogs of people who do career consulting for a fee, and answer questions like this as loss leaders, sometimes interestingly crowdsourced; Historiann has a feature like this.

    I tend to think the gap won’t matter for adjuncting at a CC. If you haven’t published or anything in the last 4 years then there is nothing to change on your CV. You can explain in your letter. But again, you really should be asking this question of someone who knows you. Someone who will be writing one of your letters of recommendation, perhaps. Or maybe a friend from graduate school who has stayed in the game.

  5. Christine

    Thank you Z!

  6. Christine

    Hi Z,

    Thanks again. Your advice was very helpful. I just got a response from a colleague who knows me and my family situation very well. He was very encouraging and recommended to also look for less urban areas since colleges, in these ones, have often difficulties in recruiting qualified individuals and that my research experience and language skills are definitely an advantage. My colleague said that adjuncts positions are a good way to start since they often lead to a more permanent positions. Of course, the problem with looking for less urban areas is my twins since I will be far away from my parents who have been helping a lot with them. I am a single mother. Thanks for your blog and I will keep coming for advice and enjoyment.

  7. Z

    Remember, this is not an advice blog. I would certainly not move to adjunct, it is not a career or a living wage and no, it is not the way to get a permanent position. If you’re not married and just looking at adjuncting as a way to get out of the house (which is what I thought), and you want a job or need one, adjunct where you are or get a real job, academic or not.

    I think you should hire a consultant like Karen Kelsky.

  8. Christine

    Thanks again Z. Your assertive different opinion is of great comfort at this moment of personal uncertainty.

Leave a Reply

