On race and gender policing

I must be an impulsive risk-taker, not quite in my right mind, and I was probably a victim of child rape although I do not remember it. I am distanced from the emotions I must surely have. Indeed, I am downright unfeeling.

Why is this so? Because I do not exhibit the requsite fear of Black people who, as we know, are all plotting to mug me and worse at all times. A healthy white woman would realize this, and would feel and also express, in the right circumstances and with the right words, the requisite fears.

So as not to have to sit through this litany, I no longer tell people that one of those genetic “race” tests would surely say I was white. And now that I am not seen as white so often, my attitudes make more sense to people and I am asked fewer questions.

Axé.

Leave a comment

Filed under Banes, Da Whiteman

Leave a Reply

