More time, and new news on the language

I do have enough will and energy, but not enough time (or, of course, money). Income must be increased and amounts of time free must be as well. Two time consuming projects will be finished by the end of this week and that will be good, and one time consuming assignment will be over at the end of this academic year.

Meanwhile, additional time must be saved. I am efficient already so I am not sure how, and believe it or not I need to increase, not decrease time spent on teaching. That is, certain kinds of time, in any case.

I am not sure how to save any more time but it is my intention to find a way. Meanwhile I declare I have verified, we have too much to do and it is not a simple question of not knowing how to manage time or tasks. If you have a professor who has not done something that ought to be done, it is that they have too much work; it may be that the one who assigns the work assumes they have assistants. I do notice that the professors in the well paid departments have assistants.

Meanwhile, I have met a colleague who does not understand common Latin abbreviations such as: cf., e.g., et al., i.e., inter al., and n.b. How common is this nowadays? I had never met someone like this before, at least not someone educated in the Western world. Am I behind the times?

Axé.

16 Comments

Filed under Questions, What Is A Scholar?

16 responses to “More time, and new news on the language

  1. N G

    Unfortunately it’s fairly common as well as some students’ problem with understanding 19th century English text due to lack of knowledge of biblical references (cultural background) not to mention their inability to use cursive script.

  2. Z

    My students cannot read cursive.

    The faculty member in question says the reason I know these abbreviations is that I speak foreign languages. But I thought they were, despite being in Latin, now part of English and had been for some time. They are in many standard books.

  3. hattie

    They don’t have the humanistic framework and don’t think they need it.

  4. Z

    Correct. And the person in question isn’t in the College of Letters and Science. The scientists use these abbreviations all the time.

  5. Traveller

    No, you're not behind the times. Rather, you're a secchiona.

  6. Z

    A studious person.

  7. Z

    Or, pejoratively, a grind. I want to know the etymology of this word, though. Traveller?

    http://www.wordreference.com/iten/secchiona

  8. Pika

    In Italian, secchione (masculine)/secchiona (femminine) is a nerd. Not sure where the word comes from though. Secchio = bucket, so literally, secchione would be a “large bucket”, but I don’t know how that links to a nerd.

    • Z

      How funny, though! I will keep it in mind and maybe I will find out the connection.

    • Traveller

      How great Pika!. Was wondering if you know the etymology and meaning of a word that I hear a lot when I go to Sicily. It sounds like: mascalsó… Just curious.

  9. Vero

    Z, your question on etymology is very interesting. I have tried to look for it but can’t figure out what’s up with my computer. That of my colleague is working perfectly fine in the same room whereas mine doesn’t have internet. It is very frustrating.

  10. Traveller

    I restarted it and it seems to be working now. WTF!

Leave a Reply

