On deprofessionalization

DCLioness left a comment on a recent post that contained an important word: deprofessionalization.

I keep trying to figure out why it is that I shrink and do not grow in the profession the longer I work at the kind of institution I do, and deprofessionalization would be the answer.

I know one is expected to say no to many things, but the people who say that have not worked in the kinds of places I have and have not had to survive in them as I have had to do.

Examples of deprofessionalization include, but are not limited to having to take direction on teaching and curriculum design from people without PhDs in field or professional pedagogical training, and doing large amounts of low level administrative work which in another context would be done by trained staff.

I think this really is worth considering.

Axé.

Leave a comment

Filed under Banes, Da Whiteman, What Is A Scholar?

Leave a Reply

