Emiliano Zapata

I woke up on the last day of 2012 to a gray sky, thinking I never want to sabotage myself or be complicit or accepting of sabotage again. That, as it turns out, is what I will renounce in the new year. I ordered a copy of Elsewhere.

I once planned lectures while driving, like this, which was possible because I had my work at the top of my mind. I aim to so situate myself that I have such freedom again.

The Zapatistas post at year’s end/beginning, when they post, and they delivered three communiqués which are avant-garde manifestos.

El uno.

P.D. QUE, GENEROSA, OFRECE A LOS MALOS GOBIERNOS UN MANUAL DE 10 PASOS (ojo: de fácil lectura, no espantarse), PARA IDENTIFICAR A UN ZAPATISTA Y SABER SI PUEDE DECIR O NO QUE “SE TIENEN CONTACTOS CON EL EZLN”:

1.- Si pide dinero o proyectos a cualquiera de los 3 niveles de gobierno, NO ES ZAPATISTA.
2.- Si establece un canal de comunicación directo sin anunciarlo antes públicamente, NO ES ZAPATISTA.
3.- Si pide hablar o habla directamente con cualquiera de los 3 niveles de gobierno sin anunciarlo antes públicamente, NO ES ZAPATISTA.
4.- Si quiere un cargo, nombramiento, homenajes, premios, etc., NO ES ZAPATISTA.
5.- Si tiene miedo, NO ES ZAPATISTA.
6.- Si se vende, rinde o claudica, NO ES ZAPATISTA.
7.- Si se toma muy en serio a sí mismo, NO ES ZAPATISTA.
8.- Si no provoca escalofríos al verlo, NO ES ZAPATISTA,
9.- Si no da la sensación de que dice más con lo que calla, NO ES ZAPATISTA.
10.- Si es un fantasma de los que se desvanecen, NO ES ZAPATISTA.

El dos.

El tres.

I looked for retirement facilities for some people and found one. It seems that the best of these are a cross between the experience of joining a cruise ship and that of going to college. Or like being on vacation or at that house in Tuscany where people go on sabbatical. In San Francisco, luxury assisted living is actually less expensive than independent living in a comfortable, but non luxury condominium of the same size.

Real estate in Houston is very much more economical and if you buy in cash, your income is intact for fees, maintenance, and services. The conclusion is that it is not reasonable for me to buy long-term care insurance. If I buy it now and need it in 30 years I will have paid in premiums the exact same amount as the maximum lifetime benefit, so I would do better to invest the money.

It appears that if you have lived in a good apartment before and you can visualize yourself living permanently in countries where an apartment, not a house, is the horizon of expectation for most people, the transition to old age is easier than it is for some Americans. Similarly, if you are comfortable with having help at home and taking cabs, and if you are willing to wait for a bus, in line and among others.

Axé.

Leave a comment

Filed under Bibliography, Movement, News

Leave a Reply

