Kristin Gjesdal and the cutting edge

I am still trying to understand the 18th century and do not. This, however, is an interesting article with an interesting author: Between Enlightenment and Romanticism: Some Problems and Challenges in Gadamer’s Hermeneutics, Kristin Gjesdal, Journal of the History of Philosophy, vol. 46, 2-2008, 285-306.

I now understand why to be on Academia.edu: people put their papers there. If my university did not have Project Muse, I could get papers from Academia.edu. Having discovered this and having had my first Skype conversation today, I feel very modern.

Then I discovered an old course flyer about the cutting edge so I will reproduce it. This is the kind of thing I truly like to do:

BODIES ELECTRIC: AVANT-GARDE POETICS

This course on avant-garde work from Spanish and English speaking traditions considers poetry as bodily experience and the poem as body. While in earlier poets like Whitman or Darío the sensorial often means wholeness, high modernist and avant-garde poetry fragments the body and represents it as a set of disjointed parts. Our discussion includes the questions of modernization as experience, modernity as environment, and poetry as physical event rather than disembodied or timeless text.

Readings will be from the poetry and essays of Gertrude Stein (USA/France), Federico García Lorca (Spain), Jack Spicer (USA), and César Vallejo (Peru/France). We will include commentary on visual arts of the period, including a number of short films. I am interested as well in the grammatical and the sound dimensions of poetry.

This would actually be an excellent book to write. All of these esoteric courses I invent, are ingenious and should be written as books, but I have to move on to the next ingeniously invented course. What faculty do is give their books as courses but this is not possible here since one must invent very many ingenious courses.

My work problem is this: I give courses most people only give when they are writing books on that topic, and that is the way in which I do in fact spend too much time on teaching. I should give this course again, better prepared and with currnt theory on embodiment, and see where it takes me.

Axé.

1 Comment

Filed under Bibliography

One response to “Kristin Gjesdal and the cutting edge

  1. Pingback: (2) Academia.edu | Account | MFA Creative Writing Portfolio

Leave a Reply

