Sobre el tiempo

We are to economize on time, protect time, save time, conserve time, and work quickly but less is said about using time. I stayed up late last night writing a draft that I had to be in an altered state of sorts to write because in order to write it, I was going to have to open files I do not like to look at because they contain texts I should have finished long since.

I slept late and then spent the entire afternoon and evening revising this text. Now it is much improved, although still not ideal, and doing it and looking at the documents I had not wanted to open I got much clearer on my manuscript structure. I had a nice time, the prose is much nicer and the ideas are sharper, and I was relaxed working on it in a way I have not been relaxed working on something of my own in a very long time.

I was of course avoiding housework and class preparation, and these things are still not done. I had the impression I was acting like a graduate student or a new assistant professor, undertaking a research project as one can do when one does not yet have adult responsibilities (this is how I have learned to think of things). But I think it is better to use time than to try to shrink-wrap it or save it.

Axé.

1 Comment

Filed under News, What Is A Scholar?

One response to “Sobre el tiempo

  1. Use time, and also use it in a way that is freeing. It sounds as if sleeping late and then working in the afternoon and at night lets you be the person you were in grad school (or something like her), when you could think and work. It gets around the blocks, whereas working 9-5 (or 8-6, or any “standard working hours”) feels regimented rather than freeing.

    So much advice needs to come with the caveat “this works for me.” Some academics feel safe working 9-5 so that they are in step with the rest of the world; that schedule acts as a sort of social reinforcement (look! we are all working together!). Others need at least some time that is, precisely, off-cycle so as to evade whatever gremlins arrive during working hours, whether real, concrete ones (students, colleagues, bosses all wanting things) or abstract ones (feelings, memories).

Leave a Reply

