Notes for this paper

“You have to stand up for yourself,” I was told.

I agree but I also say I am not even sure what that would be. When I “don’t stand up for myself” I think that what I am doing is being polite and fair and realizing I may have faults. Also, when I have stood up for myself I have been told I had no right and that I was being unreasonable.

I really do want to be the person I was and who had self-respect and so on, but I have been told so often that this was wrong, tried so hard to stop being that person, that it is hard to come back.

Yet I can do it at certain moments.

NOTE: It is Sobrevilla who chooses these examples about things coming from outside language, or things which cannot be expressed in language: los golpes en la vida; y esto no fue posible; hoy sufro solamente.

Axé.

2 Comments

Filed under News, What Is A Scholar?

2 responses to “Notes for this paper

  1. Z

    Notes cut from draft but that would be fun to develop somewhere — a pesar del interés de Vallejo en la pintura y el cubismo y a pesar de siempre situar sus poemas en una situación concreta que se puede visualizar, & because of (Clayton) despite his cubist interest and the fact of poems beginning in situacion concreta you can visualize, he is interested in hearing first and touch, so it is like reading blind.

    • Z

      More semi coherent notes gotten rid of:

      A pesar de las diferencias entre Vallejo y un escritor involucrado de manera programatica con proyectos de identidad nacional como Oswald de Andrade, he is related to mestizaje project insofar as he is seen as mestizo and insofar as he tries to bridge worlds; he is also interested in national project (Cesar Perú) and has been seen as national poet or as symbolizing something national … and mestizaje and nacion are related in this era, so this knot of ideas does in fact surround Vallejo even though his own project isn’t the kind of celebratory mestizaje or facile national ID promotion we get in some. Key is that Vallejo is not trying to use mestizo as figure to create unity a partir del desgarre: his poetry is a desgarre permanente and using “mestizo” to explain it, to combat and complain the complexities in the texts, is not a good idea (just as the idea of making his figure symbolize something national is not a really good idea). V if his texts and experience are “mestizo” the mestizo isn’t a unity, a summing or tying up, a fixed identity, a trimphant symbol, or anything like that. BUT so long as mestizo does not mean fixity, it is an interesting idea in which to think about him.

Leave a Reply

