All Power to the Soviets!

“All power to the soviets” with a small s means “all power to the workers’ councils” and it is a famous phrase from a certain phase of the Russian revolution. I learned it in seventh grade and I like it very much. I often think it and sometimes say it, and I would use it still more but I am told I must not do so without annotation since it is understood as “All power to the Soviets,” meaning Sauron and his minions. Is this really true – are people uninformed to that degree about this history?

Axé.

6 Comments

Filed under Juegos, Movement, News

6 responses to “All Power to the Soviets!

  1. servetus

    Yes, those of us still teaching this text in western civ often have to explain that. But there a lot of things that have to be explained in the same vein, i.e., that “liberal” in the U.S. means something different now than it did in 18th and 19th c. Europe.

  2. i.e., that “liberal” in the U.S. means something different now than it did in 18th and 19th c. Europe.

    Liberal in Australia means something very different indeed.

  3. OK, for teaching, yes – and my students are often very shocked to realize that about the word “liberal.” But what about for faculty? They are the ones I am told could not understand this about the S/soviets. By other faculty I am told this.

  4. servetus

    That surprises me.

  5. Oh good – then that tells me something about who I’m talking to. GRACIAS.

Leave a Reply

