Puerta de Acalá

I am flying today from Amsterdam to Madrid, where I have not been in thirty years. Longer ago than that, I studied at the Liceo Serrano. It was on Serrano then but has now changed as an institution and moved out of town.

I lived on a street whose name was changed after Franco died. My favorite monument was the fountain of Cibeles, on Alcalá just where the Paseo del Prado becomes Recoletos. I only know some streets and plazas now, but I knew many more then.

Axé.

2 Comments

Filed under News, Poetry

2 responses to “Puerta de Acalá

  1. Madrid is gorgeous!

  2. Z

    I have now seen the street and the fountain!

Leave a Reply

