Formatif: la nature

I am formed by natural scenery. People ask why I am calm and it is because I have in the back of my mind the row of high volcanoes on view behind me, the redwood path down which I am making my way, the ocean rushing up to me with its salt.

Academics say you must be able to live anywhere but I think it is because they do not know what it is to form a deep connection with land. They feel that to have preferences about places is a form of snobbery or a lack of hardiness.

That is superficial. I am who I am because of the land.

Axé.

1 Comment

Filed under News

One response to “Formatif: la nature

  1. Pingback: Attachment to the Land | Clarissa's Blog

Leave a Reply

