Dieci anni

An old student came by; it had been ten years. She said our workplace is a sad one, that many traumatic events have taken place, but that I look the same as ever and seem happy. I changed her life, she said, by convincing her she could do the professional things she did not think she could.

(Teaching is not important, and I am not good at it.)

How to eject the introjected torturer, though. I think of Marilyn Monroe, taking drugs, with so much pressure to perform in the ways desired.

I wonder whether the harsh people I always felt goading me ahead on the paths they chose were actually mere fans.

Axé.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under News, What Is A Scholar?

Leave a Reply

