La Louisiane

ArnaudvilleCabin

In mist on country roads from Maringouin I went to a meeting at Southern University in Baton Rouge, an interesting place I do not go often enough, and that is black and so gives relief from white fatigue. I had stopped on the way to get my yard sign that says JOHN BEL EDWARDS, GOVERNOR — we vote November 21st, but I am voting early since I will be in New Orleans that day. (I am of course hoping for victory and an invitation to the right party.)

From Southern University I went on more country roads to a country brewery where there was live music and a dance, and spoke in French with one of the last Cajuns. I drove home along the bayou swelled with rain, and there were people riding horses.

Axé.

Leave a comment

Filed under Poetry

Leave a Reply

