Shopping

We are told to shop, but I shop for the holidays throughout the year and have no need to do so now. I would be pleased to shop, however. In order that I not stray from my higher purposes by acquiring things which will delay the acquisition of several large objects I really want, I will list the desired items below.

The list does not include random exterior painting and siding repair, or repair of existing fences, or mold removal from the walks and outbuildings, or anything else I can do with materials I already have on hand.

It ignores the fact that some interior painting and wood refinishing would be highly desirable, and that I am not really a good landscaper and could use help. It ignores many cosmetic operations I would like to perform upon myself and my vehicle, which has been scratched by a space alien. It ignores the fact that the house needs awnings or some other form of small roof over the porches, that I want Roman blinds in the sun room, and that the interiors of at least some of the closets and cabinets really should be redone.

It does not even consider the fact that I will soon need new front and back doors, or that I want to tile the floors of the kitchen, the laundry room, and the sun room. It will never consider the situation of my windows, a matter for the next owner of this house. It will not indulge my wish for this season’s official Professor Zero shoe: the Diego di Lucca Monica.

I have purposely taken all of the above items off the list so as to reduce it to something possibly attainable within five to eight years. (Why so long? Because items 1 and 13 are large, and item 7 is not negligible.)

1. Rewire the parts of the house which need it and ground the electricity.
2. Repair bathroom ceiling.
3. Build fence by garage.
4. Finish hedge.
5. Finish compost heap.
6. Blow in more insulation.
7. Epson DVD playing projector [note that I do not even have a television] – not the expensive one at Circuit City, the cheap one at Amazon. Eventually or perhaps, I will want a screen for this.
8. Dansko Sonja clogs.
9. Digital camera.
10. Cuisinart with extra blades.
11. Fancy earring like the one I lost.
12. Perfume from my favorite store.
13. Bahama shutters, at least for the kitchen and dining room if not for the entire house. (Actually, I think they are essential for the bathroom and both bedrooms, too, and for one side of the living room.)
14. Rice cooker.
15. Manicure.
16. Bicycle pump.

17. New screen door / storm door.

Axé.


5 thoughts on “Shopping

  1. I like your list.

    I want two 24″ LCD monitors that I can hook up to the same computer side by side, a car and a parking spot, and funding to do a Ph.D. 🙂 And a couple of books a month. Not counting books for class.

  2. Well, now I have three of the items! I have lost a Dr. Scholl’s Original Sandal and although it must be in the house, it’s been gone long enough that I want a new pair.

    What else – a flourescent bulb for that light, has been on the list for a long time.

    And items 2, 3, 5 and 17 should happen sooner rather than later, if I can possibly swing it.

Leave a comment