Not Last Night, But the Night Before [so to speak]…

…I was tagged by Geoffrey Philp for the 25 writers meme, in which you name 25 writers who have influenced you. These are not necessarily your favorite writers or those you most admire, but writers who have influenced you. Then you tag 25 people. I will choose the writers and tagged people as quickly as possible, because if not I will agonize over the choices. Therefore, writers living and dead, do not let your head swell if I name you or shrink if I do not, and people not tagged, do not think I am not interested in your lists – this meme is also self tagging. One thing this list may shed light on is my “masculine” writing style, as it reflects my androcentric education.

WRITERS:

Vicente Huidobro (Chile)
Hans Christian Andersen (Denmark)
The Brothers Grimm (Germany)
Laura Ingalls Wilder (USA)
Edith Nesbit (UK)

Ramón María del Valle-Inclán (Spain)
Jules Michelet (France)
James Baldwin (USA)
Gabriel García Márquez (Colombia)
Federico García Lorca (Spain)

Julio Cortázar (Argentina)
Alejo Carpentier (Cuba)
Domingo Faustino Sarmiento (Argentina)
José Eustasio Rivera (Colombia)
Juan Ruiz, Arcipreste de Hita (Spain)

Mario Vargas Llosa (Peru)
César Vallejo (Peru)
Leo Bersani (USA)
Fernando Pessoa (Portugal)
Charles Baudelaire (France)

Carolina Maria de Jesús (Brazil)
Gilberto Freyre (Brazil)
Kate Chopin (USA)
Amir Hamed (Uruguay)
Paulo Freire (Brazil)

All of these writers were very intense. Many have a Romantic tinge, and most were great sacrificers and penitents. (We do not know who wrote the Popol Vuh, but if this were a list of 25 books, that would be on it.)

I TAG:

13 Stoploss
A Gentleman’s C
Barbie
Case Vagenvoord
Chuto

Clio Bluestocking
Dead Voles
Freedom Rider
Hattie
J’s Theatre

Jennifer Cascadia Emphatic
Le Colonel Chabert
Lisa Chase
Lumpenprofessoriat
Momo

One Hundred and Twelve
OC Blue Philosopher
Posthegemony
Rebel Girl
Servetus

Susurro
The G Bitch
The Lotus Notebooks
Undine
Xicano Power

Axé.


17 thoughts on “Not Last Night, But the Night Before [so to speak]…

  1. Yes – I didn’t know whether I should tag people because it’s a huge project, really – and putting in the links takes time, too! The whole thing took me 2 weeks and I chose the writers and the people to tag as fast as possible!

  2. Professor Zero, Baldwin keeps showing up, eh?
    And why am I not surprised by this: “All of these writers were very intense. Many have a Romantic tinge, and most were great sacrificers and penitents.”
    These may also be descriptions of your blog:

    Romantic
    intense
    sacrificer
    penitent

    Peace,
    Geoffrey

  3. 25? Yep, that’s some homework — or a really good productive procrastination project.

  4. Jennifer – nothing wrong with theoreticians! Clio – *productive* procrastination is good – I think this is semi productive or else it takes way too much time (to be 100% productive or 100% true or whatever) … Geoffrey, exactly right! 🙂

  5. Here are mine – posted here first – later at my blog where few will really care. I tired to just write the list straight through without much agonizing – so:

    1. Virginia Woolf
    2. James Baldwin
    3. Doris Lessing
    4. Adrienne Rich
    5. Grace Paley
    6. Walt Whitman
    7. Pablo Neruda
    8. Odysseus Elytis
    9. Margaret Atwood
    10. Oakley Hall
    11. Jane Austen
    12. Henry James
    13. John Cheever
    14. Raymond Carver
    15. Jayne Anne Phillips
    16. Paco Ignacio Taibo II
    17. Gary Soto
    18. Raymond Chandler
    19. Nathanael West
    20. Joan Didion
    21. Robert Hass
    22. Kenneth Rexroth
    23. Joy Williams
    24. Sarah Orne Jewett
    25. Oscar Zeta Acosta

  6. Ok — here are my rather substantial building blocks:


    1. Frankfurt School
    2. Judith Lewis Herman
    3. Nietzsche
    4. Bataille
    5. James Joyce
    6. Beckett
    7. Luce Irigaray
    8. Julia Kristeva
    9. Kleinian school
    10. Marechera
    11. Blyton
    12. Althusser
    13. Lukacs
    14. Bruce Lee
    15. Emma Goldman
    16. Wilfred Bion
    17 Wordsworth
    18. de Sade
    19 Percy Shelly
    20 Emily Brontë

  7. RG – Baldwin comes up again! And you like Jayne Anne Phillips, another one I should have put … and that not enough people know … !!! I could say more but it’s late … I think I am also under the influence of Rexroth, more than I realize, it is some kind of substratum.

    J – O good!!!

  8. Guess I should post mine over here, too:

    Louisa May Alcott

    Laura Ingalls Wilder

    Emily Bronte

    Charlotte Bronte

    Jane Austen

    Henry James

    Virginia Woolf

    Doris Lessing

    Margaret Atwood

    Margaret Drabble

    Theodor Fontane

    George Eliot

    Phillip Roth

    Bernard Malamud

    Mary McCarthy

    Theodor Storm

    A.J. Cronin

    L. Frank Baum

    Sigmund Freud

    Franz Kafka

    Janet Malcolm

    Jeffrey Masson

    Fyodor Dostoyevsky

    Thomas Wolf

    Kate Millet

    And I could put in a few more, too. Rexroth: Hmm. I actually went to a lecture and reading by him, back in the Dark Ages. He seemed more important to me then than he does now.

Leave a comment