Long Suffering

Blackguard (PhD 2008): You have been working here all these years and you are clearly incompetent, because there are flaws in this program.

Professor Zero (mildly): Yes, there are flaws. There were once even more flaws. (Aside:) If you only knew how much competence was required to create the PhD level position that resulted in your hire. If we had only been able to hire someone competent enough to be able to effect another such hire, which you evidently are not.

Blackguard: Well, I want the remaining flaws corrected now. You have caught a big fish by hiring me, but you must realize I may not be easy to retain.

Professor Zero: To be sure you are in fact retained, I would advise you to learn English, and to start writing your own memos and grant proposals rather than attempt to assign these tasks to others.

Blackguard: I cannot do that, because I come up soon for third year review. I must work on important things. I do not want power. Since I do not want power, I need not write my own memos and grant proposals. I have told you how this program should be run. In doing so, I have made a great contribution to it.

Professor Zero (aside): I just told you what I, who vote, expect to see from you at third year review, and you have not comprehended.

Friend (in another venue, speaking of another topic): A man with a B.A. is worth far more than a woman with a Ph.D. in this culture.

Axé.


4 thoughts on “Long Suffering

  1. I’ve reached a point where I see most of these patriarchal male pronouncements as a pitiable form of solipsism. Can you see the patriarchy this way? It aims to present its views as the only available objective stance, but in so doing it shuts down the avenues that would facilitate two-way communication. It becomes rigid in its perspective that there is only one way. It is schizoid. And its schizoid approach to knowledge (where one has knowledge only on the basis of maintaining that it is a one-way street — in other words, on a contradictory basis) leads to paranoia concerning the thought processes and attitudes of the now unknowable Other. “What is she thinking about me? What is she doing? The only way I can get through to her is to control her… Control her with my “knowledge”….”

    It’s all very sad.

  2. She’s quite fun, that Clarissa!

    Commendable — I don’t know, it takes a lot out of me. We have him, AKA El Desgraciado, and the Blackguardess AKA “Cristina”, and then my chair Tiresias.

    The Blackguardess has convinced the chair that the Desgraciado and I are her oppressors. The Desgraciado reminds me that the Blackguardess does me great harm in having accomplished this, and can do him great harm. He is right and nobody else is willing to point this out. So I am trying to get some of his points recognized, because they are valid and also useful to me, while at the same time not being used as a pawn by him in whatever devilish agenda he has, because I am sure he has one, he is in fact quite similar to his enemy the Blackguardess AKA Cristina.

    Jennifer, yes that’s true; in machista culture also, women are prey and so have to be watched, analyzed, wondered about. But they are prey and they must know it, so they are of course the enemy; you don’t want communication, you want to hunt, catch, control!

Leave a comment