Tracking work, again

So far today I have done the following:

8:45 e-mail
9:00-10:45 prepare one class (efficiency high, but this was not quite enough time, as it turned out)
11:00-12:15 teach said class
12:15-1:00 office hours, during which I met with a colleague and a student to create a new outreach program and also worked on an IT problem (efficiency high)
1:00-1:30 lunch
1:30-1:45 attempt to update websites, fail, call IT, write this post.

Now I will:

1:45 regroup for class
2:00 teach
3:15 prepare class
4:30 teach
5:45 update websites

By 6 PM I will have worked for 8.5 total hours. I am hoping to knock it off right there and do 30 minutes of research this evening, period. And work out and sleep so as to be less exhausted. But, I will have to also do work on these websites, so I am coming up with a 9.5 hour minimum for today.

Commentary: all of these courses could have used just a little more preparation time than they got. Y eso que trabajé algo en ellos en el fin de semana. It really does take time to teach right, especially out of field (this is a fact). I have always been told it should not if one wants to survive (fiction), and also that it should be, probably is, must be what I really want (fiction).

This is the triple bind I am in due to the excess of academic advice terrorizing I have suffered.  Did I not have to negotiate this triple bind with myself, I would be more efficient, but this shadow that hangs over me about teaching.

There is something so odd about this. I see the others as free people, allowed to do as they wish, but I have apparently received a special directive according to which I do not have the same latitude or capabilities.

Axé.


2 thoughts on “Tracking work, again

  1. ” It really does take time to teach right, especially out of field (this is a fact). I have always been told it should not if one wants to survive…”
    ‘Should’ does not describe reality.

    “…and also that it should be, probably is, must be what I really want (fiction).”
    But it would be so convenient for them if that were what you really wanted!

Leave a comment