Writing Monday

I said I would start working normally, if minimally, today and I have. Thomas says we should be able to write a coherent paragraph of six sentences in 27 minutes. Mine has three sentences but they are very long; in English they could definitely not be that long, so I am calling them six. There are 136 words.

El lado oscuro del mestizaje: raza, estado, latinidad

Cuando Bolívar ante el Congreso de Angostura propone forjar patria al mezclar la “sangre diferente” de los nuevos ciudadanos (1819), hace un gesto doble: las nuevas naciones se conciben en términos primordialmente raciales y al mismo tiempo se ubican, por lo menos en el nivel del discurso público, más allá de lo racial. El mestizaje que se convertirá en seña de identidad latinoamericana no es una mezcla que disuelve las diferencias ni una transgresión contra las jerarquías, sino una estrategia más bien hiperracial para el control social o sea, un mecanismo para mantener evidentes las jerarquías de sangre y al mismo tiempo invalidar su crítica. En este y otros textos claves de los siglos XIX y XX está en juego no sólo la formación de las culturas nacionales sino también la del moderno estado racial.

My prose style in Spanish is less than good in my opinion, and writing will get harder from here. I must read more people with really good prose styles more often.

Axé.


5 thoughts on “Writing Monday

  1. Excellent! I like to think of concepts like mestizaje as ideological in Althusser’s sense, of creating imaginary representations of real things. Or you could see them as “literary” solutions to socio-political problems.

    1. That Gramscian creeping hegemony, also. What interests me here is the way the discurso literario se desprende de una realidad que sí se vive y se percibe (even if not by members of elite). In Althusser as I have read, it is harder to get to the real or to see outside one’s bubble or to see the structures of other bubbles. 😉

      1. Tendré que leer a Gramsci de nuevo. No ha sido santo de mi devoción pero simplemente porque no le he prestado atención y lo conozco solo a segunda mano.

  2. Gracias y sí, claro, pero El Texto necesita revisión ya que en 136 palabras usa la frase “al mismo tiempo” dos veces. ,-)

  3. I have to reread both of them. Is Althusser’s real as inaccessible as Lacan’s, or do I conflate too much, etc. — we shall soon see.

Leave a comment